Calibre Audio Library

Edison and phonograph

Continuing the 2019 Libraries Week theme on the role of libraries in the digital world, let us begin with a quick look at a novel about the early...

Find out more about How audiobooks began
National Poetry Day logo

This year National Poetry Day celebrates its 25th anniversary on 3rd October. The one-day festival, which is focusing on the theme of truth, sees...

Find out more about Today is National Poetry Day!
countryside agriculture

With the summer drawing to a close and the hustle and bustle of preparing for the months ahead, we thought it was the ideal time to revisit some of...

Find out more about Wellbeing: Walking and nature
RSS

New Books

New Books for October

September children

Eerie-on-Sea lives up to its name in Malamander by Thomas Taylor (617576), a chilling place where strange stories seem to wash up. Nobody knows what happened to Violet Parma’s parents twelve years ago so when she engages lost and found expert Herbert Leon in the task of finding them he knows that it won’t be easy. Could their disappearance be something to do with the legendary sea monster the Malamander? There is only one way to find out, listen to the book!

In Fing (617574) by David Walliams, Myrtle Meek has everything she could possibly want. But everything isn't enough. When Myrtle declares she wants a FING, there's only one problem...What is a FING? Mr and Mrs Meek will do anything to keep their darling daughter happy, even visit the spooky library vaults to delve into the dusty pages of the mysterious Monsterpedia. Their desperate quest leads to the depths of the jungliest jungle where the rarest creatures can be found. But will they ever find a FING?

It is not every day that you come across a town where stories fill the air of children who keep turning grey and disappearing without a trace. But these are the rumours that are circulating in Suds, the name of the town that features in The Peculiar Peggs of Riddling Woods by Samuel J Halpin (617575). Poppy and Erasmus are determined to unravel the mystery. But when they discover the answers might lie in the dark and twisting woods, can they find the courage to creep inside and find an explanation to this riddling mystery? Join the pair on their adventure as they try and solve the puzzle.

We meet Morrigan Crow again in Wundersmith: The Calling of Morrigan Crow (617583) by Jessica Townsend, the second instalment in the series. Morrigan has defeated her deadly curse and joined the Wondrous Society but she still has to prove that she has what it takes to be a member. The evil Ezra Squall is trying to lure Morrigan from the society with the promise of finding out all about the Wunder that calls to her. Magic and adventure are the order of the day in this story for fans of Cressida Cowell and Sophie Anderson.

From Geraldine McCaughrean, the author ofPeter Pan in Scarlet andStop the Train, comes her latest book titled Where the World Ends (617567) which was the winner of the CILIP Carnegie medal last year. Set in 1727, this is the story of Quill who is dropped off on St Kilda with his friends to hunt birds. This year is different however as no one arrives to collect them and take them home. Stranded in the middle of the ocean and battling cold and hunger they fear for their survival while pondering what could have caused them to be abandoned – surely it can’t be the end of the world?

Read More